pt 1: the road to Calgary

It started with a jest I had told a friend I was going on a trip with: “Banff is only 6 hours away from Kamloops.” To which she nonchalantly responded: “Ok, let’s go there.”

The kicker: this conversation happened about 18 hours before the supposed trip.

We had booked plane tickets to Kamloops and had been slated to spend 4 days there. Easter Weekend was coming up and we were itching to go somewhere; anywhere. Kelowna, Calgary, the Yukon had all been sold out so we decided to give Kamloops a try. After all, we’ve never been there. However, we would get the exact same response from people who heard that we were going there — “Kamloops? What the heck are you going to do there?”

And so, the jest that I told my friend. And…the ensuing most wonderful, amazing road trip I’ve ever had, at least for now. 😉

We left on Friday before dusk. She had slept only for 2 hours and I for 3. She was packing and I, reeling from a final exam while the both of us still second-guessing our decision to go to Banff. She managed to pick me up from my house and drive to the airport in the cold almost-spring Vancouver air. I lugged my stuff onto her car as she sipped her Tim’s cup of coffee calmly.

A plane ride, 4 stopovers, and roughly 8 hours of driving later, we found ourselves at her friend’s place in Calgary.

Majestic view from the dashboard - I couldn't stop ooh-ing and aah-ing while seeing the Rockies.

Majestic view from the dashboard – I couldn’t stop ooh-ing and aah-ing while seeing the Rockies.

My beloved friedn in a caffeine-induced hyperactivity. Seriously, I do not know to this day how she stayed so lively despite being sleep-deprived.

My travel buddy in a caffeine-induced hyperactivity. Seriously, I do not know to this day how she stayed so cheerful and joyous despite being sleep-deprived.

IMG_6637

Seeing no other human being on the road quickly made me question my life decisions…haha.

Huge sigh of relief to see another human! (Or an indication of it.) Nevertheless, my friend and I were amazed at how Highway 1 is as simple and easy as that.

Huge sigh of relief to see another human (or an indication of)! Nevertheless, my friend and I were amazed at how Highway 1 traverses Canada from West to East.

Winding Road

And we were quickly by ourselves again…

IMG_6652

Stopover for a quick snap by the railroad tracks. I learned on this trip that the CP Rail is a symbol of unity, thanks to Yana’s persistent questioning, “What does CP Rail stand for?” everytime we saw tracks.

IMG_6656

Construction and park side by side. Last stopover of the day before sunset and reaching Calgary.

Leave a Reply

