pt2.9: Revelstoke and the kindness of a stranger

pt1

pt2

As we headed back West, we stopped at a gas station to fill our tank before the seemingly endless highway threatened to swallow us again in reverie.

Such timing of course when the dashboard flashed a tire pressure warning on us. Now, both my friend and I were (still are) clueless when it comes to cars (probably not a good idea to do a road trip but we did anyway). Needless to say, we struggled with how to use the tire gauge.

Fortunately, a man approached us and asked us if we were doing all right. My face brightened up and I immediately almost squeaked excitedly, “Can you show us how to measure the air pressure in the tire?” He thoughtfully showed it to us and he proceeded on his way.

After about 10 minutes, we still had no idea what we were doing. At that point, the man came back and asked us how we were doing. He must have figured out that we were still in a state of confusion. I was really embarrassed but at the same time I did not want to refuse his help.

He did the 4 tires for us and we thanked him profusely to which he replied, “Well, I would do the same thing for my daughters. If they’re out on the road and needed some help, I would want somebody to help them too.”

That touched my heart– a father’s love, a stranger’s kindness.

Quaint little shop in Revelstoke

Quaint little shop in Revelstoke

IMG_6693

An ‘open’ library beside a church

Amazing backdrop from the parking lot. It just evokes a sense of awe when I see mountains up close.

Amazing view from the parking lot. It just evokes a sense of awe when I see (snow-capped) mountains up close.

IMG_6696

Time to rest…our beds for the night.

Leave a Reply

